Types of Australian universities

Study Abroad

Types of Australian universities

Know the different kinds of universities Australia has

Australia is a top study abroad destination for international students, known for its high rankings in world university lists, outstanding teaching methods, research excellence, academic standards, and global perspective.

Choosing the right university can be overwhelming, but fear not, as IDP is here to assist you. As you contemplate where to pursue your higher education, take a quick read to learn about the different types of Australian universities. Understanding their history can guide you in making informed decisions for your study abroad journey.

Contact us now, your trusted study abroad consultancy in Navi Mumbai, to explore the diverse options available in Australian universities and embark on an enriching academic experience Down Under. Let us guide you every step of the way in achieving your study abroad aspirations.

1. The 1960s-1970s universities

During the mid-1960s to 1970s, Australian state governments, with support from the Commonwealth Government, established universities in mainland capitals to meet the growing demand for higher education. The primary objective of these member universities was to create a new education model distinct from traditional institutions.

The universities formed during this era include:

  1. Macquarie University
  2. La Trobe University
  3. Flinders University
  4. Griffith University
  5. The University of Newcastle
  6. James Cook University
  7. Deakin University
  8. Murdoch University
  9. The University of Wollongong

As the name suggests, these universities were founded during the mid-1960s to 1970s and differ from older capital city universities, emphasizing medium-sized research budgets.

At our study abroad consultancy in Navi Mumbai, we provide valuable insights into the history and unique characteristics of these universities. Contact us now to explore the diverse study options they offer and embark on an enriching academic journey in Australia. Let us be your trusted guide in fulfilling your study abroad dreams.

2. Australian Technology Network (ATN)

Formed in 1999, the Australian Technology Network (ATN) comprises five of Australia’s most innovative and enterprising universities, dedicated to providing impactful technology solutions for the advancement of the economy and society. Interestingly, the ATN had its beginnings in 1975 as the Directors of Central Institutes of Technology (DOCIT), but due to aspirational differences, it was disbanded in 1982.

The member universities of the ATN are:

  1. Deakin University
  2. Curtin University
  3. RMIT University
  4. University of South Australia
  5. The University of Technology Sydney

Initially established as technical institutes in capital cities, these institutions were later granted university status after 1987. With a strong focus on technological studies, these universities offer expertise and cutting-edge solutions in the realm of technology.

As your reliable study abroad consultancy in Navi Mumbai, we provide comprehensive information about the Australian Technology Network (ATN) and its member universities. Contact us today to explore the exciting study opportunities they offer and embark on a transformative academic journey in Australia. Let us guide you in achieving your study abroad aspirations.

Leave your thought here

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
Click outside to hide the comparison bar
Alert: You are not allowed to copy content or view source !!